RSS Honours - Celebrating the work of RSS fellows

Honours Committee members
Chair: Andy Garrett (President)
Sylvia Richardson (immediate past President)
William Browne
Peter Buhlmann
Roma Chappell
Tricia Dodd
Idris Eckley
David Firth
Scott Heald
Janine Illian
Max Parmar
Fiona Steele

Search Committee members for 2024 awards
Sheila Bird
Peter Challenor
Paul Fearnhead
Andy Grieve
Clare Griffiths
Roger Halliday
Robin Mitra
Henry Wynn
Qiwei Yao

Through our medals and prizes, we want to celebrate the breadth of talent throughout the Society and the discipline.

This year we have awarded 12 medals and prizes to our members who have made outstanding contributions to both the discipline and the community. Read more about them via the individual award pages below and read the full 2024 citations here.

Our Honours Committee, chaired by our president, considers the nominations for our medals and prizes according to a set criteria. To ensure greater inclusivity for our honours programme, we have piloted a search committee to seek out and nominate candidates to ensure a diverse pool of nominations. 

We will host an award ceremony to celebrate our winners at our annual conference in Brighton on Wednesday 4 September 2024. 

A call out for nominations for our 2025 honours will be launched in late May.  

The 2024 Honours recipients


Guy Medals

Named after William Augustus Guy, the British medical statistician. The Bronze and Silver medals are awarded annually and the Gold medal is awarded every two years

The Barnett Award

Established in memory of Vic Barnett, recognising outstanding contributions to the field of environmental statistics

Honorary Fellowship

Awarded to individuals of great eminence working in fields related to statistics who are not necessarily or primarily members of the statistical profession

David Cox Research Prize

Awarded to a fellow of the Society near the beginning of their research career for an outstanding published contribution to statistical theory or application

Bradford Hill Medal

Awarded to a fellow for outstanding or influential contributions to medical statistics

Howard Medal

Awarded to those who have contributed to the field of social statistics

Greenfield Industrial Medal

Recognising contributions of statistical science to all aspects of manufacturing industry

Wood Medal

Established in memory of the statistician Frances Wood OBE (1883–1919), recognising contributions to economic or social statistics

Chambers Medal

Awarded to a fellow who has not held or been elected to the office of President, for outstanding services to the Society

West Medal

Awarded for outstanding contributions to the development or communication of official statistics

Mardia Prize

Created to bring together statisticians with other scientists through workshops in emerging interdisciplinary areas

David G Kendall Award

Jointly awarded by the RSS and Bernoulli Society this award is named in honour of David G Kendall, the first president of the Bernoulli Society and the 1981 RSS Guy Medallist in Gold.