Guy Medals

Guy Medals are named after William Augustus Guy, the British medical statistician. The Bronze and Silver medals are awarded annually and the Gold medal is awarded every two years.

Nominations for 2021 have now closed and we’ll be announcing the recipients early next year.

Guy Medal in Gold

The Guy Medal in Gold is a ‘lifetime achievement’ award given to a fellow of the Society judged to have merited distinction by innovative contributions to the theory or application of statistics.

2020 recipient: Sir David Spiegelhalter

Professor Spiegelhalter was awarded the Guy Medal in Gold 2020 for his outstanding contributions to the methodology, application and public understanding of statistical science, probability and risk.

Guy Medal in Silver

The Guy Medal in Silver is awarded to a fellow of the Society in respect of a paper or papers of special merit communicated to the Society at its discussion meetings. Other contributions to statistics may also be considered.

2020 recipient: Arnaud Doucet 

Professor Doucet was awarded the Guy Medal in Silver 2020 for his numerous ground-breaking contributions to the development of theory and methodology in Bayesian inference and computational statistics.

Guy Medal in Bronze

The Guy Medal in Bronze is awarded to a fellow of the Society in respect of excellent work presented to any conference or meeting run by the Society or published in any of the Society’s journals. 

2020 recipient: Rachel McCrea

Dr McCrea was awarded the Guy Medal in Bronze 2020 for her innovative and novel work in statistical ecology, with particular reference to the development of goodness-of-fit tests and model selection strategies for complex ecological data.

Read the full citations of the 2020 Guy Medal recipients.