The West Medal

The West Medal was established in memory of the chartered statistician John Howard West. It is awarded every three years for outstanding contributions to the development or communication of official statistics.

The West Medal is usually awarded triennially* and will next be awarded in 2024.  

The nomination form contains the criteria for this award. We also recommend reading the Guidance Notes available at before completing the form. Nominations open in April 2023

2021 recipient: Peter Goldblatt

The West Medal is awarded to Peter Goldblatt for his many outstanding contributions to the development and interpretation of official health and social statistics, to increase public understanding of the causes of ill health.

2018 recipient: Jill Leyland

Jill has wide experience of using official statistics in her work as a business economist and statistician and has provided extensive support to the Royal Statistical Society over many years as it developed its strategy on official statistics, most notably in connection with proposed new statistical legislation and governance arrangements.

Nomination form and criteria
The West Medal nomination form 

*If in any year a suitable candidate is not nominated, then an award may be made the following year.