The Mardia Prize

The Mardia Prize was founded by RSS fellow Kanti Mardia to encourage cutting-edge interdisciplinary work by bringing together statistics with other science communities through workshops in emerging interdisciplinary areas. Funding of £3,000-4,000 per year is made available to support workshops that bring statisticians together with other scientific communities and to maintain a sustained focus.

We have now opened up a call for the 6th Mardia Prize - read more about how to apply.
The application deadline is Friday 30 September 2022.

2021 recipient: Vinny Davies
The winning proposal came from Dr Vinny Davies, a member of the Statistics & Data Analytics group in the School of Mathematics and Statistics at the University of Glasgow, for a workshop on Analytics for Digital Earth.
Read more about the 2021 winner.

2020 recipient: Olaniyi Mathew Olayiwola
The winning proposal came from Dr Olayiwola, of the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, Ogun State, Nigeria, for a research collaboration and networking workshop on ‘The impacts of Covid-19 on economies, food systems and poverty’ in Nigeria. 
Read about the 2020 winner

2019 recipient: Christoph Kronenberg
For two workshops bringing together researchers interested in the empirical analysis of mental health economics, particularly early-career academics. 
2018 recipients: Kristin Strokorb, Marie Ekström, and Professor Owen Jones
Three researchers at the Water Research Institute at Cardiff University for two ‘Workshops on Extremal Trends in Weather (WET Weather)’. 
2016 recipient: Fiona Underwood
To part-fund a series of workshops designed to link statisticians with those working on the sustainable management of natural resources for poverty alleviation.