Bradford Hill Medal

The Bradford Hill Medal was established in memory of the distinguished epidemiologist and statistician Sir Austin Bradford Hill FRS (1897–1991) and is awarded to a Fellow for outstanding or influential contributions to the development, application or exposition of medical statistics.

The Bradford Hill medal is usually awarded triennially and will next be awarded in 2024. * 

The nomination form contains the criteria for this award. We also recommend reading the Guidance Notes available at before completing the form. Nominations are open between 1 May to 31 October each year. 

2021 recipient: Bianca de Stavola
Awarded for her innovative development of methods for analysing longitudinal epidemiological datasets and for her work in applying causal analysis in medical statistics. In both of these fields she has been prominent in teaching and encouraging others in their use and in particular, her work in causal analysis has served as a bridge between modelling.

2018 recipient: Nicky Best

Nicky Best was awarded the Bradford Hill Medal in 2018 for her exquisite expositions of Bayesian methods through BUGS software, workshops, lectures, prior elicitations, textbooks and peer-review publications; and for substantive applications ranging from clinical trials and cost-effectiveness to epidemiology and, most recently, the optimization of pharmaceutical research programmes.

Nomination form and criteria 

Bradford Hill Medal nomination form 

The Guy Medal in Silver, the Bradford Hill Medal and the Howard Medal are intended for achievements of similar standards, subject to the different descriptions and requirements of the awards. The Honours Committee has the freedom to consider nominees for one of these medals for either of the other two if they satisfy the necessary specific criteria. 

*If in any year a suitable candidate is not nominated, the award may be made the following year.