Statistical excellence in the pharmaceutical industry

About the award

The award for statistical excellence in the pharmaceutical industry is made jointly with Statisticians in the Pharmaceutical Industry (PSI) every year.

The award is for the most influential example of the application of an existing statistical practice, or the implementation of an innovative statistical practice, in this industry.


We look for entries that have demonstrated one or more of the following:

  • A clear understanding of the needs of researchers and investigators
  • An application of an existing statistical practice to a new area that has increased the quality and efficiency of investigations
  • A new development in the design of investigations and/or the analysis of data that has led to further insights into the safety, efficacy and value of medicines or devices
  • An excellent way to communicate results that is clear and helpful to a wide array of users, showing how statisticians understand the range of user needs.

Nominees can be based anywhere in the world and do not need to be a member of PSI or the RSS. 

2020 winner

In 2020, the winner was announced as follows:

Dr Sandeep M Menon, senior vice president and head of early clinical development at Pfizer won the prize for 'Influential Quantitative Leadership in several domains in Early Clinical Development – creating a culture of quantitative decision making within a major pharmaceutical company.'

Read more about the 2020 winning entry.

Previous winners