The Chambers Medal

The Chambers Medal is named after Sir Paul Chambers, a former president (1964-65) of the Society and chairman of Imperial Chemical Industries. It is awarded every three years to a fellow, who has not held or been elected to the office of President, for outstanding services to the Society.

2024 recipients: Rachel Hilliam and John Macinness

Rachel and John have overseen substantial changes within RSS professional affairs, not least, they both played a vital role in the creation of the Alliance for Data Science Professionals.

2021 recipient: Sara Hilditch

Sara has been secretary and treasurer of the Sheffield local group of the society for many years, organising seminar programmes, booking speakers and rooms, and undertaking the often invisible but absolutely vital work that keeps RSS a lively and effective institution. Read the full citation.

The Chambers Medal will next be awarded in 2026*.

*Nominations are not sought in the two years after an award has been made, but subsequently are solicited every year until a candidate of suitable merit is nominated.