David Cox Research Prize

The Research Prize is awarded annually to a fellow of the Society near the beginning of their research career for an outstanding published contribution to statistical theory or application. The winner is awarded £2,000 by the Society.

In 2021 it was announced that the Prize would be renamed after the former RSS President, Professor Sir David Cox.

The 2022 David Cox Research Prize is open for nominations. Find out more about our call for nominations.

2021 recipient: Chengchun Shi
The RSS Research Prize for 2021 is awarded to Chengchun Shi for his impressive contributions to the statistical analysis of complex data.
Read the citation in full.

2020 recipient: Thomas B Berrett
For outstanding contributions to understanding and developing nearest neighbour methods for classification, entropy and related functional estimation, and for highly original work on independence and conditional independence testing.  
2019 recipient: Tengyao Wang
2018 recipient: Emanuele Giorgi