Campion award for excellence in official statistics

About the award

Government statisticians hold the key to information that enables us to make informed choices: from politicians making policy, to businesses deciding when and where to open their next branch, to parents deciding which school they’d like their children to attend. This award, given in partnership with the UK Statistics Authority, rewards good practice in UK official statistics - focusing on meeting the needs of the wider user community.

About Harry Campion

The late Sir Harry Campion was the first director of the Central Statistical Office, the forerunner of the Office for National Statistics. He held the post from 1941 until he retired in 1967. Campion was also the inaugural director of the United Nations Statistical Office. Campion was the Royal Statistical Society’s President from 1957 to 1959 and kindly left the Society a generous legacy to support future statisticians.


The aim of the award is to recognise outstanding innovations or developments that improve the service to users. The award recognises work carried out or completed the previous year. Nominations for the main award need to demonstrate how they meet one or more of the following main criteria:

  • An excellent demonstration of gathering information to meet the needs of a range of users, and using this information to develop new statistics, shape outputs or influence policy;
  • Excellent or innovative communication of results in a way or ways that are clear, helpful, inclusive and accessible to a wide array of users;
  • Innovative statistical development including but not restricted to the use of existing administrative data (either public or private) to respond to unmet needs, to replace more expensive processes, or to improve statistical accuracy;
  • Examples of innovative use of data in support of public policy;
  • Particular attention will be paid to citations from users that show how the relevant statistical output has helped to make a decision, inform a debate or bust a myth;
  • Credit will also be given for value for money or efficiency savings; for work that goes beyond normal expectations or results from outstanding individual effort; or for overcoming obstacles such as political sensitivity, barriers to collaboration or severe timing constraints.

Read about the winning entries in 2020

The 2021 award will open for nominations in the new year​