The Wood Medal

The Wood Medal was established in memory of the statistician Frances Wood OBE (1883–1919). It is awarded every three years to a fellow of the Society for excellent contributions to economic or social statistics.

The Wood Medal is usually awarded triennially* and will next be awarded in 2024. 

The nomination form contains the criteria for this award.  We also recommend reading the Guidance Notes available at before completing the form. Nominations are open between 1 May to 31 October each year. 


2021 recipient: Katie Harron

The Wood Medal is awarded to Katie Harron (University College London) in recognition of her outstanding methodological work on record linkage. Read the full citation.

2017 recipient: George Leckie

George Leckie was awarded the Wood Medal in 2017 for his work analysing school performance data and development of procedures for modelling variance structures. His substantive results include ways of visualising the inherent uncertainty surrounding school rankings.

Nomination form and criteria
Wood Medal nomination form

Candidates nominated for the Guy Medal in Bronze and the Wood Medal may be considered for the other medal, provided they satisfy the necessary specific criteria. 

*If in any year a suitable candidate is not nominated, then an award may be made the following year.