Statistical excellence in journalism

We are now accepting entries for the 2021 awards

We established our awards for statistical excellence in journalism in 2007 to encourage excellence in journalists’ use of statistics and data. The awards have previously been scooped by reporters from the BBC, Channel 4 News, Mail on Sunday and the Financial Times and celebrate the great strides that have been made in journalist’s use of numbers to tell a story.

The awards are kindly sponsored by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC).

The awards are open to all journalists (print, online and broadcast), including those based outside the UK and are for work completed in 2020. All entries will be judged equally, and each journalist may submit a maximum of three entries.  

Please read the full criteria (PDF) before submitting your entry.

The categories are as follows:

  • Data visualisation – stories which include data visualisation to aid explanation of the statistics being presented 
  • Explaining the facts – stories which take a current issue or statistic already published and enable greater public understanding through effective explanation 
  • Investigative journalism – stories which include previously unpublished statistics either through unpublished data that have been sourced and analysed by the journalist or new analyses of existing data 
  • *New for 2021* Statistical excellence in coronavirus reporting – this is awarded to a journalist who has gone above and beyond in their effective use of statistics and data in their reporting of the pandemic.

The deadline for entries is 22 March 2021.

Download the entry form (DOCX)

Previous award winners