The Barnett Award

The Barnett Award and named lecture was established in memory of environmental statistician, Professor Vic Barnett. It is awarded annually to encourage and promote the recognition of outstanding contributions to the field of environmental statistics.

Nominations for 2021 have now closed and we’ll be announcing the recipients early next year.

2020 recipient: Byron JT Morgan   
Professor Morgan was awarded the Barnett Award in 2020 for his ground-breaking work in statistical ecology. Being the leading authority on age-structured modelling of capture-recapture and ring-recovery data, his joint paper was the first to model how survival probabilities were influenced by weather covariates. Another influential paper on integrating mark-recapture-recovery and census data was foundational to the internationally-embraced sub-field of Integrated Population Modelling within statistical ecology.
2019 recipient: Marian Scott 
Professor Scott was awarded the Barnett Award in 2019 for her outstanding, pioneering research into the application of innovative statistical techniques to environmental issues. Marian’s impactful work delivers statistically sound evidence supporting environmental science, policy, regulation and management in areas ranging from radioactivity, water quality to air pollution. Her interdisciplinary work at the interface between statisticians, environmental scientists and policy makers has had a major influence on a range of environmental agencies and organisations.
2018 recipient: Peter Diggle 
Professor Diggle was awarded the Barnett Award in 2018 for his outstanding and sustained contribution within the field of environmental statistics, particularly in relation to the area of environmental health sciences. He is one of the most distinguished and influential statisticians working in the area of developing and fitting statistical models to spatial and spatio-temporal data applied to the environmental sciences.

Watch Barnett Lectures by previous recipients.