Our governance structure is contained in our Charter and Bylaws. Following our merger with the Institute of Statisticians in 1993, the 1887 Charter was redrafted to secure European Union recognition of UK professional statistical qualifications.

A supplemental Charter was approved by the Queen in Council on 20 September 2005 and came into effect on 1 April 2006. The current Bylaws date from 1 April 2007.

Detailed rules and procedures for the implementation of our Bylaws are drawn up by our Council and set out in our regulations (PDF). Find out also how the RSS chooses its President.

Annual Report and Financial Statements 2022 (PDF)
Annual General Meeting 2022 minutes (PDF)

Key governance committees

The Society is governed by several key committees, ensuring appropriate oversight of our activities by Trustees. They are:

Council and Executive Committee

Audit and Risk Committee

Professional Affairs Committee