David G Kendall Award for Young Researchers

This biennial joint Bernoulli Society and RSS award and lecture aims to recognise excellent research in Mathematical Statistics and in Probability Theory. The award is in honour of David G Kendall, who was the first president of the Bernoulli Society (BS), and who was awarded Guy Medals in Silver (1955) and Gold (1981) of the Royal Statistical Society. 

The inaugural winner for 2021 is Ewain Gwynne. Read more about the 2021 winner.

Nominees should be researchers with significant achievements and great potential in their research field. Eligible candidates are excellent young researchers who:

  1. Are working in probability or mathematical statistics
  2. Are members of either the BS or the RSS
  3. Are within eight years from getting the PhD to the year when the assessment occurs (an extension may be given to those having had disruptions after receiving the PhD, such as parenthood).

The award will alternate between the two subjects. Every four years, the award will be made to a young researcher in Mathematical Statistics and every four years to a young researcher in Probability Theory.

The award consists of the prize of €2,000 together with an award certificate. The award should be used to cover the expenses of attendance at a BS or RSS conference. The recipient will give the award lecture at a major BS conference (typically the Bernoulli-IMS World Congress or the ISI WSC) or RSS conference.

For more information about the nomination process, please visit the Bernoulli Society.

This award is based on donations, and we are grateful for any contribution. To donate, please complete the Gift Aid Declaration Form (PDF) and send it to a.nwagbara@rss.org.uk.