Winner of 2020 pharmaceutical award announced

PSI-winner-2020-200.jpgWe are delighted to announce the winner of the 2020 Statistical excellence in the pharmaceutical industry award, presented jointly by the RSS and Statisticians in the Pharmaceutical Industry (PSI).

Dr Sandeep M Menon, senior vice president and head of early clinical development at Pfizer has won the prize for 'Influential Quantitative Leadership in several domains in Early Clinical Development – creating a culture of quantitative decision making within a major pharmaceutical company.'

The judging panel found Dr Menon’s work to be an impressive demonstration of the value of biostatistics as well as an effective promotion of statistical thinking within a large organisation.

Tim Rolfe, chair of the PSI award committee said 'Dr Menon is a well deserving winner of this year's award. His impact as an innovative statistical leader shone through-out the successful nomination.'

On winning the award, Dr Menon said: 'It’s an honour to receive this award in recognition of the use of innovative statistical and digital tools to influence quantitative decision making in early clinical development. These tools not only quantify the probability of success but also help executive leadership make informed decisions to bring breakthrough therapies to patients quickly and safely.'

The award was due to be presented at the annual PSI Conference, but this sadly had to be cancelled this year due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Load more