Discussion paper meetings

DMC members

Shirley Coleman (Chair & Honorary Officer for discussion meetings)
Adam Sykulski (Discussion papers editor)
Steve Gilmour (Honorary Officer for publications)
Heather Battey (Honorary secretary, Research Section)
Jouni Kuha (Series A joint editor)
Janine Illian, (Series C joint editor)
Judith Shorten (RSS journals manager)
RSS Section reps
Karl Ashworth
Heather Battey
Maria Cuellar
Abdel Douiri
Jake Emmerson
Nicola Fitz-Simon
Jotham Gaudoin
Clara Grazian
Adam Johansen
Tony Lawrance
Alex Watson
Cathal Walsh
David Smallbone
Paul Smith
Piers Stobbs
Ben Swallow

Some RSS Journal articles ('papers for reading') are presented and discussed before publication at a discussion meeting. The discussion and authors' replies are then published in the relevant Journal series. About half of the meetings are organised by the Society's Research Section and a Discussion Meetings Committee (DMC) assesses whether the content is appropriate for discussion.

Discussion Meetings are usually held in the early evening at the Society's premises in Errol Street, London. The events are often preceded by an informal demonstration (DeMO) session on the issues raised by the papers. More recently, the meetings have been held online.

Preprints of journal papers are available to download before discussion meetings. Other papers, such as presidential addresses, are also available to download. All preprints available here are provisional and subject to later amendment by the authors.

See our guidelines for papers for discussion and how to submit a paper.

Contact Judith Shorten if you would like to make a written contribution to a discussion meeting or join our mailing list for an early invitation to future meetings.

See details of recent and forthcoming discussion meetings.