Young researcher wins inaugural David G Kendall Award

We’re delighted to announce the 2021 winner of the David G Kendall Award for Young Researchers. Ewain Gwynne has been awarded the inaugural prize in recognition of his outstanding contributions to Liouville quantum gravity, Schramm-Loewner evolution and the Gaussian free field.

The biennial award and lecture, given jointly by the RSS and the Bernoulli Society, recognises research in mathematical statistics and probability theory. It’s named after the first president of the Bernoulli Society and RSS Guy Medal in Gold recipient, David G Kendall. 

Ewain is an associate professor at the University of Chicago and a Clay research fellow whose research focuses on random geometric objects which arise in statistical mechanics, including random curves such as Schramm-Loewner evolution and random surfaces such as Liouville quantum gravity. He received his undergraduate degree from Northwestern University and his PhD from MIT, advised by Scott Sheffield. Before coming to Chicago he was a postdoc at the University of Cambridge, supported by a Trinity college junior research fellowship, a Herchel Smith fellowship, and a Clay research fellowship.

Ewain will receive an award certificate and prize amount of 2,000 euros. He has also agreed to present the named lecture at the 2022 RSS Conference in Aberdeen.

Load more