



#### **RSS Honours and Award Winner Citations 2025**

## Guy Medal Bronze - Jenny Wadsworth

The Guy Medal in Bronze is awarded to Professor Jenny Wadsworth for her important and original contributions to the analysis of multivariate and spatial extremes. Her innovative modelling and practical methodology have helped improve the understanding of rare events, which in turn has improved understanding of key societal issues such as climate change. Prof Wadsworth makes a significant contribution to environmental data science and she is a world expert in her field. As well as her excellent contributions to JRSS Series (B), she has made other significant contributions in her papers published internationally including in the Journal of the American Statistical Association and Biometrika.

## **Guy Medal Silver - Richard Samworth**

The Guy Medal in Silver is awarded to Professor Richard Samworth for his outstanding contributions to the development of methodology and theory for shape-constrained inference, random ensemble classification, data-perturbation techniques, and changepoint estimation, and for exceptional service to the profession. In particular: his discussion paper `Maximum likelihood estimation of a multi-dimensional log-concave density', published in JRSS (Series B) in 2010, became a landmark providing methodology, elegant theory and efficient computation in shape constrained inference; and his discussion paper `Random-projection ensemble classification', published in JRSS (Series B) in 2017, opened up a new fundamental avenue for high-dimensional classification.

### **Greenfield Medal - Nicky Best**

The Greenfield Industrial Medal is awarded to Professor Nicky Best for her outstanding work in applied Bayesian statistics in public health and social sciences, for co-developing the WinBUGS software, and for leading methodological innovation and data science solutions to improve the efficiency of clinical trials in an industrial context. The impact of her work has been enormous and wide-ranging, including scientific research, expert testimony and advice to UK government agencies, and leading a global team of statisticians.

# David Cox Prize - Kartik Waghmare

The David Cox Research Prize for 2025 is awarded to Dr Kartik Waghmare. Kartik completed his PhD at École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne in Switzerland, in 2023. He has made ground-breaking contributions to statistical theory, especially on the completion of positive definite kernel functions and the formulation of graphical models for Gaussian processes. Kartik has jointly authored three substantial papers on those topics in top international journals. Those papers include "The completion of covariance kernels" in the Annals of Statistics, and "Continuously indexed graphical models" in Series B of JRSS.

# **Barnett Award - Claire Miller**

The Barnett Award is presented to Professor Claire Miller for her exceptional contributions to environmental statistics and her pioneering work in water quality measuring, monitoring and forecasting. Claire's leadership in applying rigorous but innovative statistical approaches to real-world environmental challenges has produced monitoring and research methodologies used both in the UK and internationally. These include developing models to measure multiple

dimensions of water quality, predicting quality changes in complex water systems, optimising monitoring networks, and generally showing how state-of-the-art research can be used to meet policy or management needs. Her work exemplifies how statistical innovation, the use and proper handling of new and extensive data sources and collaboration with other specialists and bodies can address crucial environmental challenges for the public good.

## **Honorary Fellowship**

### **Fiona Fox**

Fiona Fox has been awarded the honorary fellowship for her leadership role in science communication – providing the public and policymakers with accurate, evidence-based information about STEM via the media. Fiona is founding director of the Science Media Centre, the UK's independent press office for science, and she has taken a leading role in both championing transparency and countering misinformation.

#### **Marion Oswald**

Professor Marion Oswald MBE has been awarded the honorary fellowship in recognition of her work on administrative law for automated systems used by public authorities and her leadership and pragmatism in putting ethical principles into data science practice.

## **Annette Southgate**

Professor Annette Southgate has been awarded the honorary fellowship for her major contribution across government, industry and academia in raising the importance of the use of data and statistics to support public safety and security challenges. Annette worked at Cranfield University as Theme Director for Security while on loan from government and is now the Head of the Accelerated Capability Environment at the Home Office.